“No-Pay, No-Play” Law in Louisiana
In Louisiana, every driver is required to have minimal auto insurance coverage to get behind the wheel. Individuals that fail to abide by the law have to face some hefty fines if they are involved in an auto accident, even if the collision happened as a result of another driver’s fault.
Louisiana’s “No Pay, No Play” statute means that victims of car accidents may be held personally liable for any damages they have suffered. Without insurance, you may lose out on the opportunity to seek full compensation for your injuries.If you have been involved in a car accident and are uninsured/underinsured, you should contact the New Orleans car accident lawyers of Cardone Law Firm to see if you meet any of the exceptions to the No Pay, No Play law.Exemptions to the No Pay, No Play Law in Louisiana
There are certain aspects of the No Pay, No Play statute that you should be aware of:
- Drivers are only required to have minimum liability insurance; full or comprehensive coverage is not required.
- The law does not apply to drivers involved in crashes who are from another state that does not require the same levels of coverage as Louisiana.
In addition to the previously mentioned stipulations, there are certain instances in which the law does not apply, including:
- Accidents involving parked cars.
- Exceptions for a passenger’s claim unless they are a co-owner of the uninsured vehicle.
- The law does not apply if the at-fault driver flees the scene, is intoxicated at the time of the accident, has intentionally caused the wreck, or is in the commission of a felony.
If you feel that you deserve full compensation from the at-fault driver because any of the mentioned exceptions apply to you, seek help from an expert car accident lawyer.If you are an uninsured driver that has been involved in a car accident in Louisiana, contact Cardone Law Firm at 1-888-89-CARDONE for a free, no-obligation consultation.Minimum Auto Insurance Rates in Louisiana
The following minimum insurance rates are required in Louisiana to drive legally:
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $15,000 minimum per person
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $30,000 minimum per accident
- Property Damage Liability Coverage: $25,000 minimum rate
- Medical Payments: A recommended but not required minimum of $1,000
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: A recommended but not required minimum of $15,000 per person
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: A recommended but not required minimum of $30,000 per accident
It is recommended that you purchase underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage, however, you may choose to opt out when initially buying your policy.
If you do not have the minimum liability coverage, you are considered uninsured or underinsured in the state of Louisiana under the No-Pay, No-Play law.If you were injured in a collision and are concerned about your ability to recover compensation, do NOT hesitate to contact Cardone Law Firm today by calling us 1-888-89-CARDONE. Is There Any Available Compensation Under the No Pay, No Play law?
As stated in Rev. Stat. 32: 8666 of the No Pay, No Play law:
“There shall be no recovery for the first fifteen thousand dollars [$15,000] of bodily injury and no recovery for the first twenty-five thousand dollars [$25,000] of property damage based on any cause or right of action arising out of a motor vehicle accident, for such injury or damages occasioned by an owner or operator of a motor vehicle involved in such accident who fails to own or maintain compulsory motor vehicle liability security.”
If damages do not surpass that threshold, then you will have to rely solely on your own money to recover from the accident. This financial burden can be best avoided by making sure that you have the right insurance coverage in place.
Although you may not be able to obtain full compensation for all your injuries and damages if you are not insured, you may still be eligible to file a claim and recover some.If you are insured but the damages exceed the coverage you have, you may still have options. Contact the car accident lawyers of Cardone Law Firm for a FREE and confidential consultation. Is the Law Punishing Less Fortunate Drivers?
Opponents of the Louisiana motorist coverage policy argue that this law seeks payment from individuals who do not have expendable funds.
However, those abiding by the law can agree that making every driver covered by insurance minimums is the only way to maintain fairness and ensure that innocent victims involved in car accidents have a way of securing financial aid for the damages they have suffered. Insured drivers are not only protecting themselves but also others.Cardone Law Firm has experience providing assistance to uninsured drivers who have been involved in serious accidents. Contact our Louisiana car accident attorneys today at 504-522-3333 for a FREE consultation to better understand whether or not compensation is available to you.
Although there are certain penalties under the ‘No-Pay, No-Play’ law, you may still be eligible to file a claim if the damages you have suffered exceed the threshold.
If you have been hit by an uninsured driver, or if you are an uninsured driver that has been involved in an accident caused by another party, our team of experienced car accident lawyers can help you find answers concerning available recovery.