Uninsured Motorist Claims
Worried about how or when you will be compensated? Your own policy coverage can help. So can we. Call Cardone Law Firm today at 504-522-3333.
You’ve been hit by a negligent driver and you’re worried about who will pay for the damage done. Medical bills and property damages can be burdensome expenses.
You hope that the other driver has the insurance to pay for their careless driving.
But what happens when they’re uninsured or their policy won’t cover the cost of damages. It’s highly unlikely that the uninsured driver will be willing to write you a personal check to compensate for the damage they’ve done.
So where will you find the money to recover? Thankfully, there are options.
If you have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, you may be able to cover the damages you have suffered by making a claim against your own policy.
If you have concerns about making an uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage claim or questions about how it may affect your premium, get in touch with Cardone Law Firm today.
[In the latest data from 2017, 1 out of 8 drivers in the United States were uninsured motorists.]How Cardone Law Firm Can Help
At Cardone Law Firm, our team of Louisiana car accident attorneys has helped person injury victims - just like you - make the best out of seemingly hopeless situations. Knowing that you can’t afford to deal with the tens of thousands of dollars in medical expenses and property damages can be unbelievably stressful.
Fortunately, the expert attorneys of Cardone Law Firm have helped individuals acquire recovery from their own uninsured motorist coverage policy. Remember, you are paying for this protection and have all the right to file a claim against it. You should not worry about your insurance rate skyrocketing.
We will work diligently with a supporting team of medical doctors, engineers, investigators, accident research specialists, and other legal professionals to develop the best case for you. With a history of success and client satisfaction, find comfort in knowing that we don’t get paid unless you do.Contact the New Orleans car accident attorneys of Cardone Law Firm today at 504-522-3333 for a free consultation.
[13 percent of Louisiana drivers were uninsured motorists in the year 2015. ]Car Insurance Basics
Louisiana state law requires that drivers have a minimum of auto liability insurance. The following coverage is required by the state of Louisiana to legally operate a motor vehicle:
- A minimum requirement of $15,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident caused by the driver of the insured vehicle.
- A minimum legal requirement of $25,000 for property damage per accident caused by the driver of the insured vehicle.
- A minimum requirement of $30,000 for total bodily injury or death liability in an accident caused by the driver of the insured vehicle.
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury minimum requirement of $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident.
This coverage helps to pay for the medical bills, property damage, and other costs associated with damages sustained by the drivers, passengers, or pedestrians.
Unfortunately, Louisiana has relatively high rates of uninsured drivers. According to the Insurance Research Council, an independent nonprofit, 13 percent of Louisiana drivers do not have insurance. The Louisiana Department of Insurance has that number at around 15 percent of all drivers.
This means that if you are involved in an accident with an uninsured driver, you are personally on the financial hook. Even the driver has minimal coverage, that may not be enough to cover all the damages you have suffered in the event of a serious accident.
One of the most important steps that you can take to protect yourself against uninsured drivers is purchasing Uninsured Motorist/Underinsured Motorist (UM/UIM) coverage. This protects you (and passengers) if you are hit by a driver with no insurance.
Contact Cardone Law Firm now for more information on how to handle an uninsured motorist accident.Underinsured/Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Your uninsured motorist clause can be found as a provision in your car insurance policy. You must specifically sign a rejection of this coverage, otherwise, you are presumed to agree to it. In the event of a serious car accident caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver, or if the other driver flees the scene (a hit-and-run), then you will be able to file a claim under the UM/UIM provision of your coverage.
There are several different types of uninsured coverage:
- Uninsured/Uninsured Motorist Property Damage (UMPD) - Covers automobile damage and repairs as a result of the accident.
- Uninsured/Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury (UM) - Covers injuries suffered by the driver and passengers.
- Uninsured Motorist Economic-only Coverage - Only covers costs but not non-monetary damages such as pain and suffering or quality of life damages.
Not only does this coverage protect you from uninsured motorists but also covers your family members, other passengers in the vehicle during the time of the accident, and other drivers who have been given permission to use your vehicle.
Make sure to always understand what amount of UM/UIM coverage you have. It is recommended that you have $100,000 per person/$250,000 per accident in case of a severe car wreck. Talk with your insurance agent and read through the policy to stay informed.
[In the state of Louisiana, it is illegal for insurance companies to raise your rate in a non-fault accident.]
We here at the Cardone Law Firm know how scary it can be when facing a financially challenging car accident. Let us help you secure the recovery you need to get your life back in order.What to Do After the Accident
If you’ve been involved in an accident caused by an uninsured driver you should:
- Call the police to ensure you get the necessary paperwork needed to properly file a claim with your insurer.
- Obtain medical attention if necessary. Do not hesitate to seek treatment for even the smallest injury as it can lead to something much more serious.
- Obtain the necessary information from the other driver(s), and witnesses if possible, including contact information, driver’s license number(s), and license plates numbers.
- Contact your insurance company, inform them of the accident, and let them know the other driver was uninsured.
Unfortunately, insurance companies do not always act in your best interest. Your insurer may attempt to undervalue or dismiss your UM/UIM policy claim. If you have the proper UM/UIM coverage and have been informed that the negligent driver who caused your injuries and property damage has no insurance, then you deserve to have your claim processed.
Seek guidance from a qualified lawyer who is familiar with UM/UIM law in Louisiana. Without legal representation to help you fight against your insurer, it can be difficult to recover what is rightfully yours.Time Limits
Please be aware that there is a time limit for filing an uninsured/underinsured motorist claim under your own motorist coverage policy. Any claims must be filed within one year of the date of the accident.
Once you make your claim, your insurance company has around 30 to 60 days to assess your claim.
If your insurance company is acting in bad faith and failing to assess your claim, you may need the support of experienced attorneys who can help you navigate through the world of insurance.
Cardone Law Firm will help you get the compensation you need even if the party responsible for your accident does not have insurance. Contact us today at 504-522-3333 for a free consultation.